Was it Lucid Dreaming, Astral Travel or a Stroke?

Many of the students in the psychic development class I was taking last year talked about how they see bright colors in their meditations. Now, I know you’re not supposed to compare yourself with other people, but you and I both know that we wouldn’t know what was possible unless we compared our own experiences with others. We all do it.

So I mentioned that I never see anything. I don’t even like meditating because nothing ever happens except I forget to breathe and I get dizzy, or my head bobs while I try to keep myself awake.

One night I decided to look at some YouTube video meditations. I found one that was supposed to “awaken your third eye.” I found that intriguing and I plugged in and watched as planets floated around each other, geometric shapes morphed into other shapes, and colors swirled around while a binural beat concert of music played. I stopped watching after awhile, but still continued to listen. When it was over, I didn’t feel any  different and my regular eyes were just as tired as my third eye

About 2am I woke up – and this is very difficult to explain – I was aware that I had my hand on the floor, and that I was hanging out of my bed. My eyes remained closed though. In my mind’s eye I saw brilliant exploding fireworks of bright colors. I truly thought I was having a stroke at that point.

As I pushed myself back into bed, the visions continued. The fireworks had stopped, but now I had ribbons floating down, there were two; one was white with red hearts on it, I don’t remember what color the other one was.

Finally the show was over and I tried to move my arms and legs to see if I was paralyzed from the stroke I just had. Everything seemed to work. I didn’t feel weird, I could talk. I call it my Awakening because I was awake for a long time afterwards.

Is that what I get for complaining that I don’t see colors when I meditate?

So I looked up Binural Beats on the internet because I really wasn’t clear about what it was supposed to accomplish. Here’s what I found out:

What Are The Effects of Binaural Beats? Irrespective of how the relaxation effect occurs, there is a general consensus on what types of effects you may feel while listening to binaurals. I have experienced various phenomena usually associated with mediation:

  • Physical and mental relaxation
  • Increasing focus on the inner world
  • Visual hypnagogia (seeing colors, patterns and shapes)
  • Audial hypnagogia (hearing voices and snippets of conversation)
  • Out-of-body phenomena (floating limbs and bodily dissociation)
  • Conscious awareness of emerging dream scenes

These effects are the result of listening to binaural beats as well as a conscious effort to meditate. With practice this helps prepare my mind for more lucid dreams.

http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/binaural-beats.html

So, it’s an interesting experiment anyway. I may try it again just to see if anything happens but this time I won’t automatically think I’m having a serious medical problem.

Leave a Reply

